Go, Habs, Go! Get out! Go!

The happy loyal fans at the start of the series

Dear everyone,

At least everyone east of Winnipeg,

I am very sorry for your loss. It really could have gone either way, I’m sure. Tied in the last period, 7th game… really, it was just a stroke of bad luck. No one’s fault, least of all Carey’s. Or PK’s. Who was in nets again?

There were 4 people watching the game in my house yesterday as I read the Guardian cover to cover (for once! Ahhhhh!). Not a single face flinched, or grimaced, or scrunched when the goal was scored – in fact it was the stunned silence that made me look up. 4 pairs of wide eyes stared miserably at the snowy screen. Listening hard, I was able to discern from the commentators that Boston had scored and that the series was over. “ah well”, I thought, “puts ’em out of their misery. Better now than later”.

one of these things is not like the others...

Perhaps your eye has already caught the glaring, treacherous lack of Habs apparel on the person represented here as “Holly”.  Well – what can I do? For Christmas, P gave a Habs t-shirt to every member of my family, except for me. And that, my friends, is how I like it.

For years, I pretended to be into hockey like every good Canadian. After we won the Stanley Cup (18 years ago, on s’entend-tu?) I wanted to be at that crazy rally like every other Montrealer – but I was babysitting. Cause I was in grade 11. Since then  you could say the flame has died down a little – to a lump of coal. Safe to go to bed, y’all, cause de fire, he’s out cold.

But it’s hard to NOT be a hockey fan during the playoffs. There are a LOT of games, and it goes on forever. The daffodils are blooming, the garden’s producing, the winter boots are in the basement, the bikes are on the road… and they’re STILL PLAYING HOCKEY. And everyone always wants to get together to watch the game. Well, I’ve had it. I’m no longer ashamed to admit that I don’t like watching hockey and I would much rather sit with y’all while you watch and I read. Or I’ll make you pizza. Or I’ll go to bed, if your kid’s not sleeping in there. Cause life’s too short to pretend to like hockey.

I hope that if you are struggling with this issue, that you, too, will find the strength within you to say “NO!” to pretending to like hockey. Call me up around 7 pm, I have time to talk!

5 thoughts on “Go, Habs, Go! Get out! Go!

  1. Kristin

    I agree!!! I’m sorry that everyone is disappointed, but I am pretty relieved not to have to wait around for hours every night for every person I know to finish watching the game. It takes up so much time!

  2. nina

    3 of these things are kinda the same…..
    I found the strength to say “NO !!!!!!!!!!” about 50 years ago.
    Great pix! xoxoxoox

Leave a Reply

